What you need to know about Trumps travel ban if you are British with dual nationality

Posted By Chris Newsham / January 31, 2017 / , , / 0 Comments

Britons with dual citizenship will be exempt from Donald Trump’s controversial travel ban, the Foreign Office has confirmed.

The US President’s team has told Boris Johnson that Britons who have shared nationality with one of the seven mainly Muslim countries will not be stopped from entering America.

But UK dual citizens travelling to the United States directly from one of the banned countries will face extra checks.

The Foreign Secretary has spent the day speaking to the President’s senior adviser Jared Kushner and chief strategist Stephen Bannon about the implications of immigration curbs.

His officials later issued guidance about what the border clampdown means for the UK.

The statement said:

a. The ban only applies to individuals travelling from one of the seven named countries – Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

b. Travellers to the US from anywhere other than one of those countries will experience no extra checks regardless of nationality or place of birth.


No comments

Leave a reply

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *